Posted by: keepingthemistakes | December 2, 2009

Printmaking ala Andy Warhol

Andy Warhol Poinsettias

This is my example.  I was excited about this project.  A third grade project to display at their “Christmas Around the World” music program next week.  I told them about how poinsettias come from Central America and some history of them.  Their name in Mexico is Flor de Noche Buena, flower of the holy night.  I planned for them all to do 4 prints with their own printing “master” and then add collage details next week.  Well, things didn’t go quite as planned.  Not sure what plan B will be, but I’m working on it.  I was SO PUMPED about this project. 

Then today I decided to do clay pendants with K-1 classes (6 classes) for them to give as Christmas gifts.  I was kind of apprehensive about how it would go.  I was having them flatten a ball of clay I gave them and then pressing things (metal washers, palatte knives, paper clips)  into it to make texture.  We talked about what texture means, and with the older kids I also talked about the difference between visual and tactile texture.  We touched the table and the carpet and shared words that described how they each felt.  We talked about other things, like sand, and how you would describe that texture.  Interestingly, most classes called sand “soft”. 

 I wasn’t sure how it would go, but it went GREAT.  Just goes to show that you never know!

Responses

  1. Sophie was telling me all about her clay necklace last night at supper. She was very excited!! Anxious to see it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

