Posted by: keepingthemistakes | January 5, 2010

REnew REfresh REsolve

All of those things.  Having time off makes me feel (mostly) renewed and refreshed.  I went to my work day today feeling a renewed joy in my work and resolve to stay on top of things more this second half of the school year.  I’ve learned so much in the last 5 months.  And it’s been fun.  I read somewhere that first year teachers go through stages: Anticipation, Survival, Disillusionment, Rejuvenation and Reflection.  I feel like I have had them all simultaneously EXCEPT the Disillusionment phase.  I haven’t had, nor do I expect to have, that phase.  I’m so into what I’m doing that I can’t imagine feeling disillusioned with it.  Maybe it’s partly my age and the fact that I’ve done other jobs and am now doing what I really want to be doing.  I don’t know.  I’m looking forward to seeing the kids this week, though, and starting new projects with them.  Many of my classes earned popcorn & movie parties the last week before winter break, so we’ll be doing some of that this week.  I’m formulating some resolutions but haven’t gotten them together in my head yet.  Maybe next post! 

Trees have been my inspiration lately.  In the bleak midwinter, trees are bare and cold looking, but there is something about them that is fascinating.  They have personality and strength.  I want to study them.  I wanted to stop often and take photos of them while we were driving to and from El Paso, but I refrained (photos taken from a speeding car don’t quite cut it.  I’ve tried :).  Watch for more trees from me!

Leave a Reply

Categories

