Posted by: keepingthemistakes | February 28, 2010

Bits and Pieces

I think I’ve posted on almost all of the projects that I have photos of.  WOW!  For awhile I was way behind.  Here are a couple of random photos I took of some of the projects I’ve done and not taken many photos of.

First is a “royal” self portrait with 1st grade.  I did a simplified facial proportion lesson with them and then had them draw themselves, from memory, as a prince or princess.  This week we’ll add color and some glitz.

Next is a 1-point perspective, surrealistic, room project I did with 4th & 5th grades.  Teaching perspective is fun because for most kids it’s like a “voila” lightbulb moment.  Adding surrealism to the mix is fun because kids love the whole idea of putting things together you wouldn’t normally see.  Teaching them the word “juxtaposition” is fun too   🙂

Third is a tint/shade color wheel I did with 6th, 7th & 8th grade.  This was at my school where I have no water in the building my art room is in.  That means toting water to my building and toting brushes, etc. to water in order to clean up.  This project took FORever due to uneasy access to water.  I won’t do that again untiil I have water in, or near, the art room (which should happen in a year or so it sounds like).

I got the first and second ideas from one of my colleagues.   Many of my project ideas either come from those I work with or art teacher blogs.   I tweak them and make them my own in some way, but I appreciate all the shared expertise!  I have a new project I’m writing up for use with older grades that I’m really excited about.  Watch here for more!

Leave a Reply

Categories

