Posted by: keepingthemistakes | March 5, 2010

Funnest project

This is a project I found on a couple of art teacher blogs that I can’t find right now.  I think they were Teach Kids Art and Art Projects for Kids but I can’t seem to find the projects on their blogs right now.  Anyway, it’s a VERY fun project.  I taught them a lesson about facial proportion first, then had them practice.  We then talked about important lines in faces, for instance that it’s NOT important to draw a line completely around your nose or your mouth, but that a few lines can give the idea of those features.  Then we practiced more with mirrors so we could actually look at ourselves. 

This is the one I did as an example.  I cheated and looked at a photo instead of in the mirror to do my picture.  After I drew it with pencil, I went over the lines with a Sharpie.  I cut 2″ squares of bleeding tissue paper and put them on top of the picture, brushing each one with water.  I left them on a couple of minutes and then peeled them off.  SO MUCH FUN.  I wanted to keep working on this and not teach art for the rest of the day 🙂  But of course, I didn’t.  I didn’t want to finish yet, either, because I need to use it as an example for my other 5th grade classes next week.  This would be fun with other drawings too, maybe circus animals.  The possibilities are endless!  I love this project!

Responses

  1. That is awesome!

    • Thanks Deborah — it was so much fun! I can’t wait to finish it 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

