Posted by: keepingthemistakes | April 27, 2010

A couple of things

My new favorite art supply.  See them on the web here.  I got a classroom set of these, and filled them with liquid watercolors.  They are SO MUCH FUN.  I love them.  I used them today with 3rd grade, doing a lesson on art used to express emotion and movement.  We listened to several songs from Carnival of the Animals and painted the emotion/feeling the music gave us.  I’m doing a program at our downtown Art & Music event this week, and exhibiting some of the work from this lesson.  I’ll post some student work and more about the lesson later.

One of the schools I teach at is a private parochial school.  They have an annual auction and my 8th grade class made this

to sell.  (The color isn’t very true, it’s more red than orange) They drew their design based on the theme of the auction (around the globe it says “hello” in different languages), we divided it into 15 segments that correlated with some wood tiles I found lying around the art room.  We then transfered, using the grid method, the design to the tiles and each student decorated the tile as they wished.  Some used glitter, oil pastels, acrylic paint, tempera paint, etc.  My sweet husband mounted and framed it with me.  I think it came out pretty cool.  Looking forward to hearing how much it went for at the auction!

Leave a Reply

Categories

