Posted by: keepingthemistakes | September 10, 2010

I almost feel guilty . . .

 . . .that I love my job so much.  Well, okay, not really (the guilty part — I really do love my job).  I wish everyone could feel the job satisfaction I feel.  I may be sounding like a broken record, if you’ve read this blog for long, but I really truly love my job. 

True enough, I’m a person that’s been pretty content with every job I’ve ever had.  I’ve been blessed with jobs without much searching/applying.  I know that is a blessing, and I’m thankful for it!

From my first job as a “mother’s helper” (which I have to admit was a little weird) through jobs as a grocery checker at a teeny-tiny two aisle grocery store to Kelly Girl (now they politically correctly call it “Kelly Services”) to art therapy assistant to church secretary to school secretary to art teacher, I have found I have been able to like most aspects of each job. Oh, sure, there were days when I didn’t like ___________ (insert gripe here) about each job, but all-in-all I have been happy.

But now . . . nooooow, I am ecstatically happy with my job.  I can’t even compare how good I feel about the work I’m doing now.  And that’s saying a lot considering I have liked, often very much, every job I’ve had up until this.

 

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that it’s an easy job.  It’s physically and mentally exhausting.  It tests every ounce of patience I have some days, and often another ounce or two.

But, I get to be up close and personal when kids have that “aha” moment that they are an artist, that they can draw a person that isn’t a stick person, that they want to get messy with clay.  I get to see the joy of creating every day.  And I get to see kids from year to year, building relationships, growing together.  It’s awesome.

I love my job!

Note:  Photos in this post are random shots I took while we were camping this summer.

Responses

  1. We are so lucky to have you!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

