Posted by: keepingthemistakes | February 26, 2011

Summer Art

Many people seem to think it foolish, even superstitious, to believe that the world could still change for the better. And it is true that in winter it is sometimes so bitingly cold that one is tempted to say, ‘What do I care if there is a summer; its warmth is no help to me now.’ Yes, evil often seems to surpass good. But then, in spite of us, and without our permission, there comes at last an end to the bitter frosts. One morning the wind turns, and there is a thaw. And so I must still have hope.

~Vincent Van Gogh

Those who have read this blog since last year might remember my inner turmoil over teaching summer art last year.  By the end of the summer, I was questioning whether I should do the same thing during the summer that I do during the school year.   I was feeling kind of burned out!

As I look out at a grey, dreary and cold landscape, it’s hard to even imagine summer, but even in the cold of winter, I know it will come.

I’m feeling a new excitement about summer art.  I”m not sure where it comes from,  but I’m going to go with it.  For one thing, the additional income is nice.  I remember saying, before I became a teacher, that if I were a teacher I would be making more than I was making in my 12-month, Monday through Friday, 8 AM-5 PM job.  And I am!  I always said I wouldn’t need to work in the summer.  I’d already be making more than I had been making working all year long (and I’m not saying teachers DON’T work all year long, they do – and they put in LOTS of extra hours, believe me — more than I ever would have imagined), so why work summers?  Well, there is such truth to the statement that we spend what we earn.  And having a daughter in college, and two younger daughters certainly stretches the pocketbook.  And I’ve started a new budgeting system and plan to be out of debt before long, so that stretches the pocketbook as well.

Anyway, back to the subject at hand.  I learned a lot from the classes I taught last summer.  I learned about class length (2.5 hours was too long, even for older elem. children), I learned about subject matter, and I’m inspired to do even more this summer.  I’ve started a class list and already have 10+ ideas for classes.

I’ve submitted my class list and I’m excited and inspired! 

*I have some great photos of flowers in the snow I took a few years ago, but I can’t find them!  So, these are just random snow pictures I DID find!

Leave a Reply

Categories

