Posted by: keepingthemistakes | April 9, 2011

Getting Organized . . .

The year is winding down, and once again I am trying to figure out how to get it all done before the school year ends.  This is just my second year as an art teacher, so I am still learning A LOT.

I’m trying to start planning ahead.  I really want to have a yearly plan that is something like this.  Not exactly, but I’d like to have a 4 quarter plan that makes sense (to me, anyway), starting with line (drawing), moving to shape, then color, etc.  I feel like I’ve kind of just hit things here and there, whenever I felt like it these last two years.  That’s not all bad, it give me freedom to insert special activities that coincide with calendar events (Martin Luther King day, for example) and work with teaachers to integrate something they are working on and could use some reinforcement on.  But it feels haphazard to me.  I’d like to have a more organized plan.

I organized my grading this past quarter, and though it seems like more work in some ways, it makes me feel more at peace with my grading process.  I’m trying to make it less subjective.  We have an Exemplary, Profecient, Basic, Novice grading scale at my main school and two other grading scales at my other school. 

These are the forms I came up with.  I will insert the second one(s) into my gradebook at the end of each quarter.  The rubric itself was a compilation of a number of rubrics I found on the internet, and I adjusted it to fit my grading scale.

Being organized helps me feel like I’m doing everything I’m supposed to be doing.  I love teaching art and I think it comes somewhat naturally to me, but the organization aspects of it don’t!  (Let’s not even talk about my store room right now!).

Responses

  1. Thanks so much for your assessment strategy!!

  2. I like your assessment. I may be borrowing and adapting. I use rubrics as well, but I use a different one for each lesson. It gets kind of exhausting making up a new rubric for each project, especially since I am constantly doing new lessons.


Leave a Reply

Categories

