Posted by: keepingthemistakes | June 18, 2011

Breathing deeply . . .

First week of summer classes under my belt.  They went amazingly well.  I taught two drawing classes, Drawing with shapes for ages 5-8 and Drawing for Beginners for ages 9-12.  I also taught Polymer Clay Fun for both ages groups as well.

I made these pieces as I was demoing techniques
I didn’t take any pictures of the drawing class, but I based a lot of my lessons on Drawing with Children by Mona Brookes, and also some on lessons I’ve used in my art classes. It went really well.  One of the things I really liked about it was our daily relaxation and warm-up time.  The kids were very receptive to it, or at least acted like they were. 
 

My polymer clay students did amazing things, I think.  Some of them have taken the class for at least 2 years.  I think next year I will offer and advanced class.  Once again, I learned some things that I will do different next time, but all in all it was a good experience.  More classes in two weeks and then even more in July.

I also participated in the local Chalkfest this week, as a fundraiser for our local children’s home, Youthville.

My picture is an homage to Georgia O’Keeffe and her painting “The Lawrence Tree.”  Neat activity. 

And, we celebrated two birthdays at my house.  My husband’s 50th (no pictures).   In celebration of my soon-to-be 17 year old daughter, I made this rainbow doodle cake. 

Labor intensive, but really cool outcome.  I got the idea from here and here.  I have more to write about, but since this is so picture-full, I’m gonna wait for now.  Be creative!  Have fun!

Responses

  1. I love your chalk art! We were there for a bit, but didn’t see you. And I’ve always thought about making a rainbow cake, but never wanted to do that much work. Lazy me…

    • Thanks Gina! The rainbow cake is time consuming, but not that hard!! And it’s so visually exciting that it kept me going!


Leave a Reply

Categories

