Posted by: keepingthemistakes | July 2, 2011

It’s hot (and I’m saying that in a whiny voice)

I finished up my Art Camp class yesterday.  There were two, actually, one for ages 5-8 and one for ages 9-12.  They were really good classes, but I didn’t take pictures.  Well, not many.  I did take pictures of my clay cane I made last night at 11 P.M.  I just had to make it.  One of the counselors at camp had a shirt that reminded me of these canes, but with incredibly bright colors, so I had to try to make it.   Here is a photo of the shirt (I didn’t take it).  He came by the food line and I was so distracted by his shirt that I couldn’t serve the food hahaha.  It didn’t turn out quite like I thought it would, but that’s ok.  I’ve really been teaching my students that one of the big secrets artists know is that you can turn something that wasn’t quite what you planned into something great.  No one but you knows what you planned in your head, so they will think it’s great just like it is!!!  And, it’s ok to start over.  We talk a lot about it being ok to not like how something turns out and to keep trying, you’ll eventually get an outcome you like. 

Oh, and it’s hot.

Leave a Reply

Categories

