Posted by: keepingthemistakes | August 7, 2011

Trying . . .

to get into school mode. Teachers go back this Thursday. Also trying to forgive myself for not getting more done around my house this summer. Yeah. I’ve picked up a phrase from a facebook and real life friend. She noted that many creative people are “Procrastinating Perfectionists”. It gives me an excuse. I know I’m not ALWAYS a perfectionist, but the procrastinating hits the nail on the head.

I would love to know what all my fellow art teachers are gearing up for this year. How do you layout your year? I found one curriculum that divided by quarters: Qtr. 1 – Line; Qtr. 2 – Shape; Qtr. 3 – Form; Qtr. 4 – Texture & Color. Then as the grades go up they went to Drawing, Painting, Printmaking & Mixed Media. I’m trying to come up with a plan that is similar, but also leaves room for seasonal projects (Holidays, Martin Luther King, etc). I also considered doing a project in each of those sub areas each quarter. What do you do?

I’ve actually been putting together files and writing out lesson plans with examples. That’s a huge step for me. I actually have the first few weeks of art ready to go (except for my room and supplies, which I’ll do on my work days).

Leave me a message about how you prepare and divide up your year, please!!!

Responses

  1. you start school even earlier than we do — wow! the only way i prepare for the year is to buy a massive amount of school supplies which i intend to do today!

  2. I use a handy planning matrix to divide up my year’s planning! You can download them all on my blog. Each month we explore a different art element in K-5. Artist and culture are integrated in. We also make sure that each media is covered in there somewhere! Good luck!
    Download Planning Matrix:
    http://theartofed.com/lessons/


Leave a Reply

Categories

