Posted by: keepingthemistakes | March 29, 2012

Fishing anyone?

Honestly, when I wrote that last post, I really wasn’t fishing for compliments.  Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate them 🙂 but it really wasn’t my intention.

I have really taken it to heart, though, the student who said I was mean, and I’m really working to be kinder and have more fun with my students.  I still have to yell sometimes (when 20-some kids are talking LOUDLY you can only be heard by yelling!!!).  I clap and do my rainstick and other things to get their attention, but sometimes a raised voice is all that will do it.  At least for now.  Maybe I’ll keep learning and one day I won’t have to raise my voice?

Anyway, I’m excited about techniques and ideas that I’m putting into place and planning to do next year to make my room a kinder, gentler, more organized art room.

Responses

  1. Try a bell. it works for me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

