Posted by: keepingthemistakes | September 1, 2012

Welcome back to school

Oops, this was in my drafts, so I guess I’ll go ahead and post it.  I might have repeated myself but oh well!

School started a little over a week ago, and today I finished up my first full (full for me means 4 days) week of classes.  It was intense but great.  I thought the third year was a charm.  So far I would say fourth year is even better!  My students know me and I know them, and we all sort of know what to expect from each other but we also are starting fresh, so to speak.  I’m not starting with any preordained ideas about how any of the classes will go, and they seem to have the same openness to me!  That makes me happy!

This post will mostly be pictures of my art rooms as the year is beginning.  In the first week I give the “policies and procedures” in the art room speil, along with reading my favorite Peter Reynolds books “The Dot” and “Ish”.  Kindergartners get “Magic Art Class” and “Alice the Artist”.

The main differences in my art rooms this year:

  • Fewer jobs
  • More student accessible supplies
  • Coming in and going out rituals
  • Lots of encouragement (not that this is new, but more focus on it)
  • Excitement!!!

These pictures will show parts of what my room looks like.  Hopefully I’ll have time to give more details later.  I’d be glad to share files if you have interest in any printed material you see.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Happy 2012-2013 school year!

Leave a Reply

Categories

