Posted by: keepingthemistakes | September 6, 2012

Kindergarten Project that Rocks

Kindergarten is intense.  Seriously.  I subbed in Kindergarten a time or two and I have an amazing level of respect for Kindergarten teachers.  They are all at different levels socially, developmentally and emotionally.  And there are 20 of them . . . ish.  They are loads of fun to teach but wow.  I’m not kidding when I say it’s intense.  

In art class that intensity usually means a new project every week.  Did I mention shortish attention spans?

So, I’m always excited when I find a new Kindergarten project that teaches a concept I’m wanting to teach them AND excites them and keeps their attention for the full art class.  This project was a little labor intensive before and during class, but so worth it!

I found the idea on Pinterest.  Big surprise, right?  You write the student’s name on a piece of paper before hand — I used 12″ x 18″ drawing paper and a fine line Sharpie.  I used all capital letters and made short names bigger and longer names, yeah, you guessed it, smaller.  I tried to fill the page.  Then I cut bunches of rainbow colored tiny (1/2″ x 1/2″ ISH) squares.  I was excited because I have all the table folders from last year and I wasn’t sure what to do with them and didn’t want to throw them out or recycle them yet. TA DA.

When they arrived I talked about their names and about patterns.  I told them they could make patterns or not, their choice, and they could change patterns whenever they wanted.  Very free project.  I controlled the glue bottle.  Ok, I’ll admit it, I have issues with liquid glue.  I’m working on it.  I started by putting glue on their first letter and then floated around the room adding glue as needed.

It was AWESOME!!!  Everyone was engaged, even a student who comes in very disengaged!!  Great project and all but 2 students finished.

Leave a Reply

Categories

