Posted by: keepingthemistakes | January 7, 2013

Still here . . .

I know, I haven’t posted in ages.  I can’t even remember what I posted last <pause here to go look>.  Ok, let’s just say it’s been a long time, shall we?  I have to say that this year has felt like a good news/bad news kind of year.   Kind of like the game we played during our long car ride home last week.  The good news is, I’m feeling more in control this year.  The bad news is, the more in control I feel, the more I want to do, which makes me feel less in control.  I don’t know if that makes any sense at all.   But it’s how I feel at the moment.

130103_0000

Drawn by a first grader in a pictionary game! (It’s a white tailed reindeer)

I uploaded one picture to my computer in December.  One, folks.  That is unusual.  My excuse(s) is/are:  My daughter was in a production (aka play) that was performed in early December; All of my classes at one school made Christmas-themed art to display at their music program in early December; All the students (and some staff) at my other school all made polymer clay Christmas ornaments.  Those ornaments are awesome, but very labor intensive for me (Shout out to my mom, daughters, and awesome art room volunteer for all your help!).  Those are my excuses.  Oh, and we traveled over our break, from the day after we got done until the night before we went back.  YAAAAAAWN.

So, here’s what’s on tap in the art room in the coming weeks.  Right now we are focusing on diversity.  I found a really cool project online last night that is a self portrait project using transparency paper that I am doing with 4th grade.  I’m really excited about that one.  On another note, I love the book “We’re Different, We’re the Same” and am trying to figure out a good art project to connect with it.  I thought I had one today that I tried out with first grade.  Let’s just say it was less than stellar.  You have to have the valleys or you won’t appreciate the mountain tops, right?  So, I’m still working on that one.  If you have ideas, please feel free to share!  There is an art contest tied in to our local Martin Luther King, Jr. celebration later this month.  I just got information about it late last week and the art work, with parent-signed permission forms, are due by next Tuesday.  I was going to try to do it, but decided late today that I just don’t have time.  I think it’s a great idea, but when I see students only once a week, if that, less than two weeks is just not enough notice to get things like that done.  After the diversity projects we will move on to winter/snow related art.  We will also be moving into clay units for all my grades at my K-4 school.  I am considering doing some slab work at my other school too.  There is no kiln there, and my room is in the basement, so I will have to transport the clay pieces up stairs and to my other school.  Please discuss (in my comments).  Have any of you done that?  What are your experiences?  Is it worth all the extra work?  I think clay experiences are important and good, but haven’t convinced myself yet that it’s worth all the stress.  Please share!!

I promise to take pictures of current work being done and share soon.  I also promise to post more often!!  Those are my art teacher blog resolutions.

Happy New Year!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

