Posted by: keepingthemistakes | April 9, 2013

Bird’s Eye, Kandinsky and more, Oh My!

Ok, you need to be saying (in your head) that title like Dorothy, the Cowardly Lion, and friends, ok?  That’s the only way it works or makes sense.  Do it. And repeat it three or four times.  I’ll wait.

Ok, lots of fun stuff happening in the art rooms these days.  Clay starts next week (my clay arrived this morning.  Thanks, Doug 🙂 )

This is what the counter in my room looks like ALL. THE. TIME.  Every day week month quarter I think I will get it cleaned off and organized.  Somehow, that doesn’t make the priority list.  Maybe on the work days at the end of the year.  Next year, I will have a plan so it doesn’t get like this.  I will.  I WILL.130326_0000

On a more positive note, this is what greets me when I walk out my art room door.  130409_0002How could that not make you happy?  Kindergarten learned about the artist Kandinsky and his concentric circles.  I have been collecting bottle caps for awhile, ok maybe a little longer than that.  My plan is to make a big, awesome, school mural with them.  I asked for small water bottle type caps, but I got all kinds in all sizes.  So, I use them for tracing and cutting!  They are actually awesome.  Peanut butter lids for the big circles, and so on (in other words, I don’t really know what the smaller lids are from, but the big lids say JIF).  Practicing cutting and gluing is a good thing for Kinders to work on, and not gluing the same color on top of the same color is good, too.  Some were random:

130409_0008Some made patterns:

130409_0007ALL were beautiful!

130409_0009

I love these things.  They make me really, really happy (ok, admittedly, it doesn’t take much to make me happy, but that’s not a bad thing!).

Fourth grade is learning about perspective.  Vanishing points, horizon lines, smaller objects farther away, and so on.  I am so impressed with their work!  This was our introductory project.  We learned the basics, and then made a vanishing point, aka dot,  in the middle of our paper.  I then passed out cardboard squares and rectangles and they traced 5 shapes around their vanishing point.  Two rules – the shapes couldn’t be ON the vanishing point and they couldn’t be touching each other.  I then had them make dots on all the corners of their shapes and we connected their corner dots with the vanishing point, making line segments (they had learned about those in math!).  They didn’t connect corners if the line would go behind their shape. If they ran into another shape or line segment, the line stopped there.  Then we looked at them and realized they looked like buildings in the middle of a city might look to a bird flying overhead.  BIRD’S EYE VIEW!!!  I told them that we weren’t going to make them into buildings yet — drawing windows and doors in perpective was the next lesson.  So, we colored them abstractly, which means with interesting colors and designs but not to look like real life, with metallic colored pencils.  I think they turned our really cool.  A side note — I cut the paper 8 x 11 for this project, so they fit perfectly onto 1/2 of a large piece of construction paper to frame it!!  Thanks to my colleague, Shelly, for sharing that gem with me!!  That little tip has changed my life!!

130409_0006

130409_0005

130409_0003I’m sure I got both ideas for these projects from someplace on the internet.  I have no memory of where, and while I tweaked them to fit my classes, I didn’t think them up all by myself.  I owe a debt of gratitude to art teachers who share their ideas freely.  I hope other art teachers can get ideas and inspiration from me as well.

In other news, this is one of the (many) things that remind me how much I love what I do:

130409_0000

And, counting down to our art museum field trip.  I am so pumped, excited, nervous, excited, tense, excited . . . you get the idea.  I’m excited.  The kids are too!!  Thanks Target Field Trip Grants for making this possible!

Happy Spring (as it thunders, hails and sleets outside).

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

