Posted by: keepingthemistakes | July 29, 2013

Art Camp II and Mimicking the Masters

I took lots of photos last week.  The last two classes for the summer were good ones!  I enjoyed them both immensely and hope/think the kids enjoyed them too!

In Mimicking the Masters, we started with get-to-know-you activities and made a sketch book.  We used the sketch book daily to write information about each artist that we learned about.  It was a young class, so I just had them write the artist’s name and birth-death dates.  Below is a slide show of the art we did.  Artists we covered were Pablo Picasso, Georgia O’Keeffe, Henry Moore, Faith Ringgold, and Claude Monet. Can you guess which ones are for which artist?  I owe a debt of gratitude to online lesson plans that have been shared by other art teachers.  If you are a teacher, you know that you tweak them a bit, and make them your own, but they are a great starting point.  I hope other teachers get inspiration from my ideas as well!  This site is especially helpful.  I may have posted it before, I know I’ve pinned it on pinterest.  Great ideas!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In art camp, we covered a variety of art mediums, from clay to painting to printmaking.  We used the cornstarch-salt clay again, and it was not as successful this time, lots of breakage.  It takes longer to dry than two days.  If we’d have done it on Monday I think we’d have had better luck on painting day. Live and learn!!  I didn’t get any photos of the printmaking.  We did foam prints and gelatin printing.  We cut out things to print rather than using leaves.  It was fun, and I will try it again (maybe at school).  Below are a variety of photos from our week at Art Camp II.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Categories

