Posted by: keepingthemistakes | August 13, 2013

Spoiled

I know I’m spoiled.  But I just want summer to last a little bit longer.  I’ve worked in enough other fields besides education, and I know what it’s like not to have summer break, spring break, winter break.  But still, human nature makes us always want just a little bit more, doesn’t it?  Mine does, anyway.

In just a few, short days, I start back for professional and work days, and in a little over a week, classes start.  I’m excited about it, but I also look at my summer list and see nothing so few things crossed off.  I’m such a procrastinator.

Anyway, I’m working hard to get the following together before classes start next Thursday:

  • Cooperative learning structures in my classroom.  I had a 2-day training this summer, and am really excited about what using those cooperative learning strategies will mean in my art rooms!  I plan to have students seated in cooperative learning teams, which I haven’t done before, and incorporate team and class building structures into classes regularly.  I’m especially excited for how this will manifest itself during times of student sharing about their art and learning about critiquing!
  • Curriculum maps!  I’m working hard to have my lessons for the year mapped out.  I know there will be some detours, but it will do my naturally disorganized, procrastinating self good to have more of a plan for the whole year.  I’ve tried doing it every year, with more success each year, but am feeling like this year is the best mapped out so far!
  • Assessment tools.  I grade a lot of different things for each grade level at my main school.  I haven’t felt like I’ve done the best job of it, but this summer, I’ve done some research and planning, and am going to grab that bull by the horns.  I plan to include students in the assessment, and be more on top of it throughout the year.

Those are the main things on my  mind.  Of course, there are about 10 other things on my list, decorating my room being another big one. I love pinterest — such great ideas for posters, etc. to encourage creativity!!

I”ll plan to post pictures as mine comes together.  I went last night to measure tables and the room and it seemed so . . . empty.  Can’t wait to work on that blank canvas!!!

What are your big plans for your classroom?

Leave a Reply

Categories

