Posted by: keepingthemistakes | August 23, 2013

And so it begins . . .

130821_0007

Welcome to art class! This door decoration is something I made during my very first work day on my very first year as an art teacher. I had a big list of things to do, but no idea where to start. So I made this!

Here we go!!  I have big plans for my art classes this year.  130821_0008

130821_0000

I love my new rainbow pocket chart. “What are we doing today” is the most common phrase heard when my students enter the classroom. I’m hoping having it written up here will help answer that (at least for 1st grade and up).

Cooperative learning is one of the key ideas in my teaching.  I’m exited about it, and have already used class and team  building activities with all of my classes on the first day.  130821_0006

My other big plan is to streamline my grading system.  I’m kind of pumped about that, too, and will unveil (haha, like it’s a new car) my grading rubric to my students next week.  I think it will make things easier on all of us, and besides including my students in the grading process, it will hopefully help everyone understand my grading system better.  Including me.

130821_0003

130821_0004

130821_0005

This is my new game to encourage positive behaviors.  They can earn three spaces a day (4, with the art star), and earn one “Art Party” each 9 weeks.  They automatically get their three spaces if we don’t have school on their art day.  I got this idea from The Little Art Teacher blog via Pinteres (I love Pinterest!).

130821_0001

130821_0009

130821_0002

Cooperative learning “teams” at each table, instead of just a seating chart.  I’m confident this will help build classroom cohesiveness and accountability!  I had good results on my first day of classes!

Have a great school year everyone!  Here is an The Art of Education post that I found helpful this morning.  Good things to remember!

Responses

  1. Thanks for the shout out! I’m “That Little Art Teacher”. I hope the game board keeps working well. Just came across your site. Can’t wait to see more.


Leave a Reply

Categories

