Posted by: keepingthemistakes | August 27, 2013

Cooperative Learning is the BOMB

Ok, I’ll be the first to admit that maybe we’re still in the beginning of school honeymoon period.  But, my classes have been going amazingly well, and I attirbute it to the cooperative learning seating and teams.  I feel like the way they are sitting is familiar to them — it’s like how they sit in their classroom — and they are used to talking quietly to their group, and not yelling across the room at their friends.  I’ve incorporated both team and class building activities, and I feel like they’ve gone really well.

I’m also pretty pumped about my grading rubric, and my plan for students to turn work in for grading.  I haven’t done that before.  My plan is to use these drawers for each grade to turn in their finished work (I will just go through kindergarten folders or grade during class for them).

130826_0001They will fill out the rubric with how they think they did on the project, then I will fill it out as well, and give them comments and a final grade.  I don’t plan on grading EVERY single project, but I will grade at least one project for each of the standards I’m grading on, and I will use the craftsmanship and behavior parts of the rubric to give them their craftsmanship and participation grades.  I feel like grading is an area where I really needed to improve, and I feel like plans are in place to make that happen, and that makes me happy!!

To the left of the drawers is this poster.

130826_0000

The idea came from Pinterest.  A serendipitous happening is that the arrow on the “complete” line points at the drawers.  I didn’t even plan that, but it’s perfect!!!

I’ll share the rubric next time.  I also found it on Pinterest and tweaked it a bit.

Hope all is going well for all of you as your school year begins!

Leave a Reply

Categories

