Posted by: keepingthemistakes | February 28, 2014

Where do I begin?

If you’re as old as me, that phrase makes you think of a song from the 70’s.  A love song.  Name that tune.  I’ll give a prize to the first person that gets it right 🙂

It’s been a busy month in and around the art room(s).  This month we did a lot of sunflowers, since we celebrated Kansas day the end of January.  I’ve been so impressed with the work my students have done!  This is going to be a very picture-laden post, because I can’t choose which examples to show, so you just have to see all of them (except I didn’t take pictures of each one, just a lot of the 2nd grade ones.  Ok, maybe all of those), because I LOVE THEM ALL. I got most of my lesson ideas from a workshop I attended at the 2012 KAEA conference.  A mother/daughter team of art teachers often presents about a theme for many grade levels, and I try to attend their workshop (the whole two times I’ve attended KAEA . . .what a depth of experience, huh?).  The first year it was on sunflower projects, the second year, winter projects.  I’ve used almost all of their ideas!

Kindergarten did cut and torn paper sunflowers

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

First grade painted loaded brush sunflowers — that’s where we filled our brush with paint and made prints with it rather than brushing. Easier said than done — we are so used to BRUSHING with brushes.  We did the brown and yellow all at once, dipping the whole brush in yellow, and then just the tippy toe top in brown.SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Second grade made problem solving sunflower collages — we figured out and shared different ways to make flower petals out of squares of tissue paper, and we learned about symmetry too. I think these turned out AMAZING. (Note to self, don’t use green backgrounds next year)SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Third grade did watercolor resist sunflowers — no pictures yet, but they did a great job.

Fourth grade radial design sunflowers (they are still finishing them up so I don’t have any pictures – but they are turning out really nicely, too).

Fifth grade did chalk sunflowers.  This is a photo in progress.  I’ll post the finished work in my next post.SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Middle schoolers have still been working on their diversity projects, and are now beginning color wheels.

I’m also working on: organizing my art room (does that ever really get done?), ordering supplies, planning curriculum for the rest of the year and for next year, and then everything else that goes on in a week, including my Friday sub jobs.  Today I subbed for music at my main school, and I did a collaborative art & music project.  It went pretty well, considering it was all new for everyone.  Hopefully we can try it again sometime.

We are supposed to have more bad weather this weekend.  We’ll see.  Maybe it will just pass us by, or maybe we’ll get another snow day! I mostly hope we don’t, because my daughter is supposed to travel to our state capitol on Monday for Model UN.  She will be very disappointed if they don’t get to go.  They’ve worked really hard to prepare.  So, as much as I love a good snow day, I’m hoping it doesn’t come to pass this time!


Leave a Reply

Categories

