Posted by: keepingthemistakes | November 11, 2014

Whoa, seriously?

I just had a pretty long post written and I lost it.  Yikes.  I had covered teaching methods, classroom management, importance of art education.  Wow.  And now it’s all gone, and I’m running out of steam.  I’ll try for it another day.  In a nutshell, I feel like my teaching methods continue to improve, I think art ed. is just as important as regular ed., an I think the art experience needs to be different than the regular classroom experience.

I had also noted a great iPad project I started with 4th grade.  They are writing artist statements and putting them with a manipulated photo self-portrait.  I gave them some prompts/sentence starters, and showed them some that 5th graders had written at another school.  Then, they wrote their own — they shared them at their tables (Kagan style) and then had the option of sharing with the whole class.  Their statements literally brought tears to my eyes. Here are a few gems:

Art is a journey waiting to happen.
Art makes me feel good about myself!
Art is a nice and fun way to change your bad mood.
Art makes me feel like myself.
Art makes me feel confident of myself and happy.
Art is my passion. Art is who I am inside.
When I create art it makes me strong.
When I create art I create life.

Many of my students are English Language Learners, so their use of vocabulary speaks so highly of their classroom teachers!!!  Moments like these are what keep me going some days!

And I’ll end for today with a few photos of projects done this fall. One of my schools has a Fall Fun Night around Halloween and they usually ask me to do art to decorate.  These are the projects we did.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

6th  grade, different perspective of an autumn tree

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

5th Grade Zentangle Pumpkins

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

3rd Grade Line/Pattern Leaves

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

2nd Grade Oil Pastel Pumpkins

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

1st Grade Texture Pumpkins

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Kindergarten Q-tip Autumn Trees

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

8th Grade Autumn Printmaking

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

7th Grade Chalk/Oil Pastel Batik

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

