Posted by: keepingthemistakes | May 5, 2015

Counting down . . .

I’ve been an almost total failure in keeping this blog updated this school year.  Not sure what happened, but maybe it can get better.

RIght now we are in the thick of finishing up our clay unit.  Once again, I waited until the last 6 weeks of school to do clay.  Who knows why.  Every year I say I’m not going to wait until the end of the year . . . so far I’m 6 for 6 in doing so. I am getting better about planning and organizing the unit, but I still feel like I get down to the last couple of weeks and I’m scrambling to get the firings done!!!

Here are a few photos of the projects, mostly in progress.  Previous years 2nd grade has done a mammal unit and we made clay mammals.  This year they discontinued that unit so I rearranged which grades made what projects.  I’ll have to rethink next year as well, since two grades did the same project this year.  Kindergartners made texture necklaces for mother’s day

. IMAG1808

FIrst grade is making pinch pots with texture and a melted marble in the bottom of it.  Second grade made mold formed bowls using balls of clay.  Here is a photo of some of them being glazed . . . these are bowls of absent students that I was glazing after school.  I was tired, thus they are all being glazed just the same.  My creativity muscles were tired 🙂

IMG_20150505_160942

Third and fourth grades are making a coaster/tile with a stamped design using radial balance.

Two weeks ago I took my fourth graders to the Wichita Art Museum.  This is the third year in a row we’ve been able to do this field trip!  The first year I had received a Target Field Trip grant, but the last two years we’ve been able to go because the art museum has a program that pays for buses for field trips so that makes it very doable!  Here’s my selfie with the Chihuly chandelier!

IMG_20150424_111923

My colleagues and I planned a professional day for art making.  We had a guest artist come and teach us techniques for paper altering that we can use with our students and for our own creative growth.  Using Citra Solv, a natural cleaner, you can make really cool papers, specifically from old National Geographic magazines!  Here is an example of one of the pages I altered.  Fun stuff!  And it smells very citrusy!  Check out the Citra Solv Artist Page here.

IMAG1757

Lastly, check out my Vimeo page.  I’ve made several movies of the iPad art my students have done this year.  (Please let me know if that link doesn’t work).

Happy last days of school!

Leave a Reply

Categories

