Posted by: keepingthemistakes | February 16, 2017

How cute are these??

This is a project I learned from my colleague Shelly one of my first years as an art teacher. I read a couple of books about princesses and princes (I like the tumble books version of “The Paper Bag Princess” read by the author, Robert Munsch, and “Princess Penelope’s Parrot” by Helen Lester), have a short lesson on and practice drawing faces, and then have them draw themselves as a prince or princess. We draw with pencil, go over with sharpie, add color, and finally real sparkling jewels. This year we are using watercolor colored pencils, one of my new loves. I also got multicultural crayons for the skintones. These are still in progress, but aren’t they awesome? I wanted to take photos of every single one. I love them all!  This is just one, of five, classes. I did use some restraint 🙂



Leave a comment

Categories